The Melville House & Museum
The Melville House and Museum is located at 114th street and 1st Avenue. Built in 1786 by Stephan Gorham, the first postmaster of Rensselaer County. A New York State historic marker commemorates the nine years that he lived there and wrote his first two novels, Typee and Omoo. Melville was a graduate of The Lansingburgh Academy and taught in the area. The furnishings at the headquarters reflect the various architectural changes the building has undergone during its two centuries of existence. The society's collections includes maps, photographs, diaries, business records, town and village records, and the Burleigh panoramic views. The unique "Attic Museum" houses tools, materials, and products of the communities extensive 19th century brush and oil cloth industries. In 1973 the society established "Melville Park" directly across First Avenue from the Melville House. The park is located on the site of the early 19th century shipyard of Richard Hanford. The Melville House and Museum is open to groups and individuals by appointment by calling (518) 235-3501 (Leave Message) or (518) 986-2285 (Jenny: Corresponding Secretary).