A BRIEF HISTORY
The Lansingburgh Historical Society was formed in 1965 to preserve and interpret the community's unique heritage. At that time, the elegant and historic Lansing House, which was built in 1749, was demolished. This great loss encourages local support to preserve remaining historic treasures, including the home of Herman Melville (Melville wrote his first two novels in the nine years he lived there); the Lansingburgh Academy, where President Chester Arthur taught and Herman Melville was a student; and the Oakwood Cemetery, burial place for "Uncle Sam" Wilson. The Village of Lansingburgh, until its annexation by Troy in 1901, was the oldest incorporated village in New York. Comprising about one-third of Troy at its north end, Lansingburgh still maintains a distinct historic identity, its own zip code, and its own school district.
The headquarters of the Lansingburgh Historical Society is located in the Herman Melville house at 114th Street at 1st Avenue in Lansingburgh. The society initiates various cultural and educational events to highlight Lansingburgh's unique history (see events page). The headquarters is open to groups and individuals by appointment by calling (518) 985-2285 (Jenny-Corresponding Secretary) or (518) 235-3501(Society-leave message on machine). We have no paid staff and receive no regular public funding. We welcome additional members (see membership page) and encourage participation and donations.